St Rule House History
St. Rule House was built in 1906 and still remains a local landmark combining period features with an Arts & Crafts character and architecture.
The property was purchased by the current owner in 2005. This fine home has been lovingly and authentically restored, maintaining original features with its mature walled garden, and rose clay roof tiles creating a distinctive and attractive look defining St Rule House.
The iron gates were designed by Thomas Yeudal to complement the architecture and period of the house.
“St. Rule” has been the name of the house since it was built. St. Rule(Scotti)or Regulus(Latin) was a Monk of Patrai in Achaia. In 370 A.D. he was ordered by the Emperor to bring the bones of St. Andrew from the Holy Lands to Constantinopile.On his journey he was warned by a vision to sail westward until he landed in what is now St. Andrews, Scotland. Where he buried the bones of St. Andrew, founded a Chapel and Tower(one of the most ancient edifices in Scotland).
St. Rule House is a modern tribute to Scottish History. Furnished and adorned with Scottish Antiques, tapestries and memorabilia–it is a memorable setting and experience.